to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

yo bum rush the party
2004-04-19, 8:13 p.m.

I crashed a party yesterday. Not like a keg party at college that's meant to be crashed. But a proper party. At a house. A very very nice house. The Fontanel. It's the largest log cabin the the country. That house ROCKED by the way. Rocked in a balconies-off-the-bedroom-overlooking-the-indoor-pool-and-jacuzzi kind of way. In an MTV Cribs kind of way. It was built by Barbara Mandrell, sold to a music mogul, and Kid Rock is renting it now. Unfortunately, Mr. Rock was not present at the party. Which is sad, because my prime motivation was my starfucking impulse. Not that I really want to meet Mr. Rock. Or Ms. Anderson. They've been spotted around town recently. One place was a not-too-swanky hair salon. But I digress.

Anyhow, we drove and drove to the country, and asked a kid at a convenient store (you heard me!) how to get there (he asked if any celebs would be there and I was mean and didn't tell him I thought that Kid Rock would), and we drove down the drive to a spot with a sign that said "park and wait for shuttle." We did. And waited. And waited. The sign said we were on video surveillance, but... nothing. My friend Robin practically demanded we drive up the drive and I was having a fit and refusing because we were already breaching etiquette by, y'know, crashing the party, and no way did I want to go drivin' up there, where they obviously didn't want extra cars. Thank God we didn't try to walk, by the way, it was a lonnng driveway. A van with a driver in the know happened by and brought us up to the house. And guess what? Nobody questioned why we were there.

It reminds me of when I was younger, and my family would drive by a house with a party in progress, and my father would joke, "Let's just go and say we're friends of the bride."

After the limo "shuttle" dropped us back at our car, I wondered, should we have tipped him? You tip a valet at a private party. But he was sooo far way at the front of that limo.

And now I have a song by Self stuck in my head that goes: "Crashing parties/Is a way of making new friends..."

get back - bounce baby