to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

twenty-one questions
2004-05-26, 9:00 p.m.

I'm borrowing this survey-as-entry from Jessica and Jason.

1. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title.

"Los Angeles" by the band X. Runners up: "New York, New York" by Nina Hagen (I didn't want to steal Jessica's choice: Ryan Adams' "New York, New York" - but I do like it too) - and "Istanbul" by They Might Be Giants.

2. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

Concrete Blonde's "Still In Hollywood."

3. Ever bought an entire album just for one song and winded up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.

Oh, there have been sooo many. The Offspring "Come Out and Play (Keep'm Separated)," for one.

4. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

My favorite one of my Kiss-This-Guy type mis-heard lyrics is that when I would hear Nine Inch Nail's "Head Like A Hole," I thought it said "Fight Like A Whore."

5. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.

"Everybody Hurts" on REM's Automatic for the People - I liked the video though.

6. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

I choose the "otherwise repellent" - I try to say I don't like the Gwen Stefani as a celebrity. She seems so much like she's been created by Disney and her record label. Though certainly she doesn't fit into the "unattractive" category. Oh, and songs I like anyway? Her duet with Eve, "Let Me Blow Ya Mind" - and her duet with Moby (whom I also claim not to like) "Southside." And a decent portion of the No Doubt catalog.

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

My favorite use of expletives is in ol' school punk rock like The Sex Pistols.

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.

It doesn't have to be one I like, right? "She's So High" by Tal Bachman. He IS American, right?

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

I finally found a "cassingle" (remember those?) of "This Is Acid" by Maurice. I consider it my favorite house music song.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

Malcolm McLaren's "Deep In Vogue."

Also, I would like to make a Part B and add my favorite Christmas song that's not about Xmas: "Hazy Shade of Winter" as covered by The Bangles. This can also be a selection under #16.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

�Spending The Day In The Shirt That You Wore" by Poi Dog Pondering.

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

From Beggars Banquet's One Pound Ninety-Nine "Never Wear Mascara" by the Hank Wangford Band (which is ironic b/c I got the album for the darker music like Bauhaus and Love & Rockets and The Ramones).

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

I don't know -- isn't rock'n'roll by its nature pretty un-PC? How about -- the little girl verse from "Moon of Alabama"?

14. A song sung by an overweight person.

What do you mean when you say overweight? How about anything by an artists that define themselves as overweight? Like Fat Joe or Heavy D or Biggie Smalls?

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise dislike.

"Dancing In The Dark" by Bruce Springsteen.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

"Handsome and Gretel" by Babes in Toyland. I had to come up with someone other than Hole. Because that would be so predictable. Can I answer this whole survey without mentioning Hole or Self? Would that be possible? At all?

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

My parents listened to what was then called "easy listening." Easy for whom, I ask you?

I remember having a little 45 record with a song called "Pineapple Princess" that I loved. It went: Pineapple Princess/He calls me/Pineapple Princess all day/As he plays his ukulele/On the hill above the bay/Pineapple Princess, I love you/You're the sweetest girl I've seen/Some day we're gonna marry/And you'll be my Pineapple Queen.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

My friend Purple is pretty alarmed that I like Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful." Hey, I'm surprised too, if you had told me a year before it came out that the girl who sang "Genie In A Bottle" was coming out with a mid-tempo ballad about feeling good about about yourself, and I would actually like it, I would have told you that you were Insane In The Membrane! But, I love it. And now even like "Dirrty" and "Fighter" and her Lil' Kim duet "Can't Hold Us Down." It's true.

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

Tatu's cover of The Smiths' "How Soon Is Now?"

And Husker Du's cover of the Mary Tyler Moore theme.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.

When I'm mad I like to hear angry songs. Like "Violet" by Hole. So to answer my question I asked you and myself in #16: No.

21. What was the last song you downloaded?

I haven't downloaded anything in over a year. A song that was cut from the first album by The Streets. It's called "We've All Got Our Runnins."

Okay, everyone, that concludes the song survey for today. Please place your tray tables in their upright position.

get back - bounce baby