to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

mei-kong
2005-06-09, 8:55 p.m.

Can I just say that I have a big hole in my shirt that I have been wearing all day today and if I were back at high school I would be punished by having to muck out stables for between one and three hours, depending how mean the teacher was that doled out, or "stung," the "hours"? See, it did no good, the supposed-character-building-lesson-teaching in high school. Here I am. At work. In clothing in poor repair.

For lunch today I got a message in my fortune cookie. It said Learn Chinese. (Though it didn't specify if it was Mandarin or Cantonese and that really bothers me). Anyhow my new word was Mei-kong. It means "Don't have free time."

Indeed.

Speaking of which, hi, I haven't updated in a long long time. I guess I was taking a hiatus. Which sounds like fun, but, not so much. Hiatus implies to me vacation and exotic travel. Like when TV actors take their summer hiatus. Me? Nope. Just haven't updated the diary.

I saw Lords of Dogtown and loved it. Not just because Emile Hirsch and John Robinson were precious, either. When I first caught wind of the ad campaign for the film, I was all "Doesn't anyone remember the lessons learned from Gleaming The Cube? Also, I have like zero interest in eXtreme sports. But then I heard that Catherine Hardwicke, the director that gave us Thirteen made it, and I immediately wanted to check it out. It has that same gritty feel that her first movie did. Also, the re-creation of the Seventies was good and not cheesy or over-the-top. She does a great job of getting really really good performances out of her actors, especially her teenaged ones.

Have you heard there are baby booms in Florida after the hurricanes? Like there are up North after blizzards? They're crediting (1) couples having time away from work, alone at home, possibly with no power, and also (2) their inability to get to the pharmacy for birth control pills. Who. knew.

This weekend is the Bonaroo Music Festival. In Manchester. Tennessee, not England. So close. Yet so hard to imagine actually going. All those people in the hot hot humid middle of nowhere.

get back - bounce baby