to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

xmas songs
2004-12-23, 6:36 p.m.

Just a quick post on-the-fly about Xmas songs.

I have found a Christmas CD that I love, it's Maybe This Christmas Tree - and you can listen to it in it's entirety if you visit the link .

Anyhow, here's my favorite Christmas song list. Oh, my rules included: no really traditional stuff. No Nat King Cole's "I Saw Three Ships A-Sailing." Though that is a favorite. And none of the recordings from Phil Spector's Christmas CD because there would be too many on the list. And nothing from the Maybe This Christmas Tree CD. Not yet anyway.

Okay:

The Bangles "Hazy Shade of Winter"
The Pogues "Fairy Tale of New York"
Run DMC "Christmas in Hollis"
Band-Aid "Feed The World"
John Lennon "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)"
Lizzie West "Christmas By and By"
No Doubt's cover of "Oi to the World!"
The Kinks "Father Christmas"

New favorite: Plus One's cover of "Most Wonderful Time of The Year"(a song I usually quite dislike).

I'm sure I forgot some. Porkchop will remind me whenever he gets here in this nasty weather with all the flight delays and missed connections and such.

Edited to add: He did remind me of one! The Waitresses' "Christmas Wrapping" - you know: When what to my wondering eyes should appear In the line is that guy I've been chasing all year! "I'm spending this one alone," he said. "Need a break; this year's been crazy." I said, "Me too, but why are you? You mean you forgot cranberries too?"

Merry Christmas everyone. (Or Kwanzaa, Solstice, Festivus, whatever you celebrate!)

get back - bounce baby