to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

first you get the peanuts
2004-05-01, 4:57 p.m.

A suggested topic from p.o.y. is "I Say... And You Think" where we're urged to respond with the first thing that comes to mind with each of these words. And then expand on one of the answers. Only one? Oh, I think you're in for more than one! The "prompt" words are in all caps...

1. PEANUT BUTTER

Jelly. And now I'm reminded of a little song-and-dance routine I learned in elementary school that goes: First you get the peanuts and you pick 'em, pick 'em, pick' em, pick 'em, pick 'em (while reaching upwards with your arms and hands as though picking something from a tree), then you smash 'em, smash 'em, smash 'em, smash 'em, smash 'em (while hitting your fist into the other palm), and then you spread 'em, spread 'em, spread 'em, spread 'em, spread 'em (while making rolling-out-the-dough-type motions with your hands), singing peeeanuut, peanut butter, jelly. peeeanuuut, peanut butter, jelly (here you make jazz hands up to the left for the peanut butter part, and down to the right for the whispered jelly part). then repeat the above for grapes (pickin', smashin' and spreadin'). I think there's another verse about assembling the sandwich, but can't quite remember... good times.

2. INSATIABLE

Thirst. I know, boring answer, but really what I thought.

3. DAISIES

Dalmatian spots. (I used to dog-sit for a Dalmatian named Daisy). I miss her. By which I also mean I miss her owner. That would an example of the psychological phenomenon of transference, I guess, which seems appropriate since we're doing Word-Association Exercises anyway.

4. CHEWED GUM

Stuck in hair.

Like it isn't - when you have to lie to get a few strands of some of your not-killed-in-a-fire-but-really-kidnapped daughter's hair for DNA proof.

5. GANG

Clarksville. (It's the 5th largest city in Tennessee and years ago there were some promos running for a news series about gangs movin' into Tennessee and I remember the announcer's deep serious melodramatic voice saying "They're looking to expand their turf. And they're looking to Tennessee." Chung chung.)

6. THUNDER

Fire. Because it's an album title by Jason & The Scorchers. Thunder and Fire. They had some great album titles. Clear Impetuous Morning. Still Standing (after the band had a particularly rough patch). And one of my favorite album titles of all time, even though it wasn't an album, it was an EP: Fervor.

7. MONSTER

The moment REM went completely irrevocably corporate. Following along with the album title theme in #6.

8. SODA POP

I can't come to a one-word response here - my mind starts reviewing what regions of the country call it pop, soda, soft drink, cold drink, or "coke" as the term for any brand or flavor of, uh... it.

9. INSECURE

Sober. "Insecure Sober" is the title of a song I sadly haven't heard yet by the band Self

10. FOREST

Trees. Because one of my favorite expressions lately seems to be "can't see the forest for the trees."

Just comment on one, they suggested at p.o.y. P-shaw.

get back - bounce baby