to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

count crunkula
2005-04-28, 9:10 p.m.

~~ Words On the 'Net ~~

Reading this article by Jessica Hopper is the most I've thought about the Emo scene. Ever. I'm tempted to be all "People think too much" but actually I used to think a lot about those sorts of things, like when I was one of only 4 girls in my college radio station's staff of 50. It's funny though (and the author also makes this point by tying it in to all of rock history) but, y'know, the more things change, the more they stay the same; it is true.

Her blog has become my new favorite internet read -- with mentions of Babes In Toyland & Joan Didion and coining phrases like "Count Crunkula."

~~ Words Off the 'Net ~~

I went to Tower Records a couple of nights ago. I thought I was in a big impulse-buy mood, but really?: no. I came away with nothing. Not even the Sugar-Free Red Bull point-of-purchase display by the double-doors got me.

But I did notice something funny. In the back of the store they now have a used (or "pre-loved") CD section. And I guess the CD's get sorted first by genre then by artist. And an employee had made some little handwritten post-it notes and put them along a shelf where to-be-filed CD's were stacked. On the stickies were written words to describe the genre in which the CD's were to be later filed. Like "country" or "blues" or "rock." Well, one of the notes said "Tim's music." I take it Tim likes dance and electronica. Another note said "Rapizzle." And my favorite was the one that said "God." I started to look around for a clerk who looked amuseable enough for me to ask "Could you direct me to the God aisle?" but there were no amuseable looking clerks anywhere. The guy (or girl) who wrote those stickies must have gone off-shift.

get back - bounce baby