to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

already seen
2004-06-09, 8:12 p.m.

From p-o-y this week:

"What is d�j� vu and have you experienced it before?"

(a) D�j� Vu is the name of a strip club (or as they call it: gentlemen's club, but as I prefer to call it: cathouse) in mid-town, and no, I've never been. The building is big and hot pink and when I give people directions to the office where I work, I get to tell them to "turn away from the D�j� Vu" when they get off the interstate. They display a sign out front that reads "50 Beautiful Girls And 3 Ugly Ones." They seem really corporate and chain-like but I'm surprised that that I can't seem to find a website so I can throw you to the link, so you'll have to trust me.

(b) "Already seen." It's when you feel like you've been somewhere, seen something, felt something -- already -- before. But you didn't. You think. Yes, I've experienced it. Here's a fancier definition that I like: "any subjectively inappropriate impression of familiarity of the present experience with an undefined past." Choasdaily has done a nice breakdown of three different types of d�j� vu. Jung had a theory about the third one - d�j� visit� - that we hold memories deep in our collective unconscious and that the memory of the place might be, for example, leftover and imprinted in our minds from an ancestor. I don't know if I believe that, but it's interesting. There's also a theory called "double cerebration" where it's thought that one side of your brain can process things a split second quicker than the other side, so sometimes when it (the image or feeling or whatever) hits the other side, it seems familiar. I don't know if I believe that either but I mention it because it seems all science-y. If psychoanalytical theories are more your cup of tea, there's a theory that it's a wish fulfillment phenonenon where you wish to repeat an experience and have it end up better than last time. And if you like parapsychology, you have your theories that it's psychic third eye stuff or reincarnation. Freud even said it may be of a "miraculous" nature. I personally think it's your mind playing a little trick on you with your memory and recognition.

(c) D�j� Vu is also computer software for foreign language translation, I think.

(d) "D�j� Voodoo" is a song by Kenny Wayne Shepherd, the name of at least one cover band and the title of at least one covers album.

get back - bounce baby