to the floor


d-land buddies
sock-girlie
smartypants
purplecigar
pinkytusk
morganzola
luckystott
jackprague78
harri3tspy
blofeld
bigpimpinmba
andclint
wearymoon
whiskeyfist


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The WB World
2004-05-28, 4:30 p.m.

Yesterday evening I went to see a band at what I thought was going to be essentially a modified rehearsal in a small studio. The directions said that it was in "The W Building" which was "like a warehouse." After I drove and drove and finally got to it, I was surprised to see a huge modern building with big fancy brightly-lit "W" in the front, and cars parked in the parking lot on all 4 sides of the building. I had stumbled upon a Youth Happening. When I went inside and Through The Metal Detector, I saw a very nice and clean and lavishly decorated performance space with a white rap trio from Boston performing (not as bad as it sounds). As I was waiting for my artist and her band to start, I was looking around at the kids (14/15 year olds mostly) and noticing their dressing and hairstyling trends, I realized that I felt like I was on a set for some show on the WB. All those pretty white teenagers. Really, I wanted to yell: "Quiet on the set, Speed, Action..." The W on the building should stand for: Warner Bros. lot. While there I also noticed: teenagers don't have any sense of personal space. If they need to get by each other they just bump right into each other, don't they?

I think all the films I wanted to see have been pushed out of the theaters because The Day After Tomorrow apparently needs to be shown on 4 screens at once. There's one documentary playing: Supersize Me. Now, I'm all about having the discussion about society and business and body images and food, but the more I read about Morgan Spurlock and his "debunker," Soso Whaley, the less I like either of them. I did hear Mr. Spurlock say something interesting in a radio interview. His doctor told him he was hungry because the food he was eating wasn't providing him enough nutrients, so his body was telling him he was hungry. Which is more fodder (no pun intended) for my plan to eat lots of fresh fruit and vegetables this summer. Maybe I'll even go to the Farmer's Market this weekend? But back to the film topic. I secretly kind of want to see Man On Fire. I love the Denzel Washington. And I hear such great things about little Dakota Fanning.

get back - bounce baby